Sombrilla Magazine is the flagship publication of The University of Texas at San Antonio. Founded in 1984, Sombrilla highlights the impact and achievements of students, faculty, staff and alumni throughout the world.  Through compelling storytelling, the Sombrilla team strives to capture cultural, intellectual and personal stories inspired by the UTSA community.

The print magazine is distributed to over 130,000 people twice per year, and the online edition features exclusive multimedia content and new stories throughout the year.

The Team

Margaret Lamar

Managing Editor

For the past 25 years, Margaret has worked in publishing and non-profit leadership to create impact in advancing equitable opportunities in education across the U.S. She joined the UTSA team as Managing Editor in the spring of 2022.

Valerie B. Johnson

Senior Editor

A San Antonio native, Valerie is an award-winning writer and photographer. Before joining Sombrilla Magazine in 2019, Valerie spent time as a news reporter covering education and city hall.

Shea Conner

Senior Editor

After graduating from the University of Iowa and embarking on an award-winning stint as an arts and entertainment journalist in St. Joseph, Missouri, Shea joined the Sombrilla Magazine team at UTSA in 2017.

Christi Fish

Sr. Executive Director of University Communications

Christi Fish has told compelling stories for nearly 20 years as a professional communicator. She joined UTSA in 2008 and has bachelor’s degrees in English and Biology from UC Irvine.

Tricia Lynn Silva

Strategic Communications Coordinator

Tricia Lynn is a 20-year veteran of the San Antonio Business Journal. She is excited to be using her writing and editorial skills and to be working with UTSA’s stellar communications staff.

Katia Diamante

Social Media Coordinator

After graduating from UTSA in 2015 and honing her skills as a photographer, videographer, and digital marketer, Katia joined the University Strategic Communications team at UTSA in 2022.

Production Team

Shashi Pinheiro
Ximena Vila Ferral
Mitzi Shipley
Maria Castro
Josie Medel